About the Awards

The Nielsen Bestseller Awards in association with Coutts use data on print sales from Nielsen BookScan, and e-book sales from Nielsen PubTrack Digital, to identify and celebrate the UK’s bestselling books. Books selling over 250,000 copies, in print and e-book sales, are awarded Silver status, those selling over 500,000 are awarded Gold status, and those selling over 1,000,000 books are awarded Platinum status.

The Nielsen Bestseller Awards annual ceremony took place virtually – Wednesday 17 March 2021. Richard Osman, Reni Eddo-Lodge, Matt Haig and David Walliams were among the prize-winners. Find out more here.


The Nielsen Bestseller Awards 2021:

  • Matt Haig receives a Gold Award for Reasons to Stay Alive
  • Lisa Jewell receives a Gold Award for The Family Upstairs
  • Kathryn Hughes receives a Gold Award for The Letter
  • Christy Lefteri receives a Gold Award for The Beekeeper of Aleppo
  • Tom Kerridge receives a Gold Award for Lose Weight for Good and a Silver Award for Proper Pub Food
  • Harriet Tyce receives a Gold Award for Blood Orange
  • Heidi Perks receives a Silver Award for Now You See Her

Latest News

Nielsen honours authors and illustrators at annual Bestsellers Awards ceremony

Michael Morpurgo, Ian Rankin, Jojo Moyes, Fearne Cotton and David Walliams among those honoured London,…

Barbara Taylor Bradford Presented with ‘Lifetime Platinum Bestseller Award’ at HarperCollins

  Legendary bestselling author Barbara Taylor Bradford was presented with a special recognition at the HarperCollins…

Pinch of Nom authors pick up three Nielsen Bestseller Awards for combined sales of over a million copies

  The Nielsen Bestseller Awards have presented Pinch of Nom founders, Kay Featherstone and Kate…