What is an Honorary Platinum Award?

As a new method of celebrating sales achievement over a number of years within the recording period (2000-present), Nielsen Book introduced the ‘Honorary Platinum Award’ in 2017. This award is presented to authors who, while they may not yet have reached the million sales milestone with a single title, have achieved significant lifetime official sales across their entire output. These Honorary Platinum award authors will be added to the Nielsen Book 21st Century Hall of Fame and are reviewed and presented on an adhoc basis. Previous winners include Sophie Kinsella, Jacqueline Wilson and Anthony Horowitz.